Brunswick NAACP Installs New Officers

Brunswick NAACP's President Dr. John Perry and Vice President Ron Stokely
Brunswick NAACP’s President Dr. John Perry and Vice President Ron Stokely

The  NAACP officially began a new era in it’s Brunswick  branch, as elected officers were publicly sworn into office last week.  The installation ceremony was held on Sunday, March 10th at the Zion Baptist Church where the guest speaker was Rev. Antony Walk.

The installation charge  was give to Officers and Executive Board by the former President C A Lee. The charge was followed up by the

passing the torch of leadership to Dr. John Davis Perry II the newly installed president of the local branch.

Following his comunity greeting, Perry wasted no time declaring: 

“We’ve got work to do!”

He stated that while the mission of the NAACP is to ensure the rights of all people through the eliminating of racial hatred and discrimination, the first order of business has to be the unification of the community – unification that  can and must happen through it local branch.

Perry described the different races, religious groups, political parties, fraternities,  sororities, companies, etc as the future of the local branch, with their common interest being a commitment to ensuring the rights and well-being of all humanity.    Perry publicly committed to all in attendance to do the hard work of unification become out of it would come collaboration that would birth meaningful and necessary change.

NAACP meeting are held every 3rd Monday, 6:30 pm at 1710 Gloucester Street.  For more information, please visit. Website:

The Brunswick Branch Officers are as follows:  President:  Rev. John D. Perry, II First Vice President:  Mr. Ron Stokley Second Vice President:  Mrs. Ethel Daniels Third Vice:  Rev. Zack Lyde Secretary:  Ms.Sharon Blue Lee Assistant Secretary:  Rev. Lynne Garner Treasurer:  Ms. Claudette Whing Assistant Treasurer:  Mrs. Annie Clara Polite Executive Board Members Ms. Gwendolyn Atkinson, Ms. Barbara Baisden, Ms. Johneys Beckham, Mr. Vincent Joubert, Jr. Davis, Mrs. Venus Holmes,  Ms. Diane Knight, Mrs. Betty McKenzie,  Mrs. Sabrina Nixon,  Ms. Dana Roberts,  Mr. Nathan Russo,  Ms. Essie Sheffield,  Ms. Bernice Singleton, Mr. Jeremiah Stephenson.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply